U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Indian Health Service: The Federal Health Program for American Indians and Alaska Natives
A - Z Index:
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
#

California Area Office logoCalifornia Area Office

Office of Public Health

(916) 930-3981 + Extension


The Office of Public Health ensures that high quality health services are available for Indian people in California. We accomplish this goal by helping the tribal and urban Indian health programs meet nationally accepted standards of care for healthcare organizations. Our professional staff provides training and technical assistance in addition to performing basic federal functions such as contract monitoring and health program performance evaluations. Our mission is to: monitor health status; empower health care providers and consumers about new innovative practices; and join with other health care partners to improve access and delivery of care. We assure proper licensure credentialing is being used and national accreditation is being sought by Tribal, Urban and Buy-Indian health programs.
 

Office of Public Health

Steve Riggio, DDS, Associate Director (Extension 322) (steve.riggio@ihs.gov)

  • Administrative direction of health care services
  • Assures management of electronic data collection of health information
  • Assures technical performance monitoring of tribal and urban health contracts
  • Area Dental Consultant
  • Area Head Start Coordinator
  • Area Urban Coordinator
  • Project Officer / Technical Assistance
  • Program performance reviews 
     

Government Performance and Results Act (GPRA)

Amy Patterson, PhD, Public Health Analyst, (Extension 320) [amy.patterson@ihs.gov)
CDR Wendy Blocker, MSN, Public Health Analyst, (Extension 308) (wendy.blocker@ihs.gov)
Christine Brennan, MPH, Public Health Analyst, (Extension 333) (christine.brennan@ihs.gov)
Rachel Pulverman, Public Health Analyst, (Extension 361) (rachel.pulverman@ihs.gov)

  • Data analysis, local and national reports
  • Epidemiology: technical assistance consultant
  • National GPRA management and technical support
  • Program planning and statistics support
     

Health Professional Consultants

Beverly Calderon, RD, CDE, (760) 735-6884 (beverly.calderon@ihs.gov)

  • Area Health Promotion Disease Prevention (HPDP) Consultant
  • Dietician
  • Project Officer / Technical Assistance


Susan Ducore, RN, PHN, (Extension 323) (susan.ducore@ihs.gov)

  • Area Nurse Consultant
  • Immunization Coordinator
  • Project Officer / Technical Assistance
     

Marilyn Freeman, RHIA (Extension 362) (marilyn.freeman@ihs.gov)

  • Clinical Applications Coordinator
  • Vista Imaging Coordinator
  • Meaningful Use Coordinator
     

Helen Maldonado, PA, CDE, (Extension 332) (helen.maldonado@ihs.gov)

  • Area Diabetes Consultant
  • Diabetes Managment training and Technical Assistance
  • Improvement Advisor for Improving Patient Care (IPC)
     

Dawn Phillips, RN, CDE, (Extension 331) (dawn.phillips@ihs.gov)

  • Project Officer / Technical Assistance
  • YRTC Risk Pool Techncial Assistance
  • Behavioral Health Technical Assistance
     

Steven Viramontes, PHN, (Extension 359) (steve.viramontes@ihs.gov)

  • Clinical Applications Coordinator
  • Telemedicine Coordinator
     

Information Resources Management Office

Robert Gemmell, Supv. IT Specialist, Area Chief Information Officer (Extension 326) (robert.gemmell@ihs.gov)
Toni Johnson, IT Specialist, Business Office Coordinator, CHS Officer (Extension 354) (toni.johnson@ihs.gov)
Kelly Stephenson, IT Specialist, Area Telecommunications Liaison (Extension 330) (kelly.stephenson@ihs.gov)
Gary Mosier, IT Specialist, RPMS Database Administrator (Extension 329) (gary.mosier@ihs.gov)
Paula Taylor, IT Specialist, Applications Administrator (Extension 327) (paula.taylor@ihs.gov)
Michelle Martinez, IT Specialist, (Extension 358) (michelle.martinez2@ihs.gov)
Theresa "Reese" Weber, IT Specialist, System Administrator (Extension 307) (theresa.weber@ihs.gov)
Marcella Begaye, IT Specialist, RPMS Support, (Extension 320) (marcella.begaye@ihs.gov)
Edna Johnson, Computer Assistant (Extension 324) (edna.johnson@ihs.gov)
Ron Byers, Computer Assistant (Extension 370) (ron.byers@ihs.gov)

  • Area website management
  • Business office coordination
  • E-mail system maintenance and support
  • Information security
  • RPMS data reporting
  • RPMS software and patch updates
  • RPMS training and technical assistance
  • Database administration
  • Statistical computer research
  • Third party billing coordination
  • WAN and LAN system support

This website may require you to download plug-ins to view all content.

usa.gov link   Accessibility · Disclaimer · FAQs · Website Privacy Policy · Plain Writing Act · Freedom of Information Act · HIPAA · No Fear · Glossary · Contact

Indian Health Service (HQ) - The Reyes Building, 801 Thompson Avenue, Ste. 400 - Rockville, MD 20852