Skip to site content

Indian Health Service The Federal Health Program for American Indians and Alaska Natives

Directory Menu:
Directory
Help

Dental Clinic: SANTA YNEZ TRIBAL HEALTH CLINIC

A picture of the facility, if available.

Geographic Information
Location: SANTA YNEZ, CA
Type of Program: Tribal
Service Unit: SANTA YNEZ TRIBAL HEALTH PROG
Tribe/Nation:
IHS Area: CALIFORNIA
Staffing / Clinic Size
Year Clinic was built (or remodeled):
Number of dental operatories: 5
Types of referral services:
Total dental clinic staffing: 12
Clinic Specifics / About The Area
Number of clinic patients (users):
Nearest city with > 50,000 people & distance:
Airports serving the area & distance:
Housing Options:
Distance from clinic to nearest residential area:
Distance to nearest schools:
Recreational opportunities in the immediate area:

Contact:

Phone:805-688-7070
Fax:805-686-2060

Mailing Address:

Address:P.O.BOX 539
City:SANTA YNEZ
State:CA
Zip:93460

Street Address:

Address:90 Via Juana Lane
City:SANTA YNEZ
State:CA
Zip:93460

About SANTA YNEZ TRIBAL HEALTH CLINIC

Our Clinic is located on the Santa Ynez Chumash Reservation and serves 2,635 Native American and low income patients in the surrounding area. Our Clinic has Federally Qualified Health Clinic [FQHC] status, and we see a significant population of insured, underinsured and uninsured patients. Over 87 of the patient population we serve is under 200 of the poverty level or 2,286 patients. In addition, 30 of our patients are under 100 of the poverty level. They are employed in agriculture, the hotel industry, or as domestic workers. Many of our low income patients are Native Americans and some are suspicious of western medicine. They are also at risk for specific health conditions, including diabetes and hypertension. Some of our Spanish speaking patients are afraid we may report them to immigration. In terms of race and ethnicity, we serve Native Americans, Asian/Pacific Islanders, African Americans and Caucasians. The racial data is not complete for all categories; however we did see 24 American Indians/Alaskan Natives in 2006. Ethnicity data was collected as: Hispanic – 41, Non-Hispanic – 49, and Unknown – 10. Our patients range in age from: newborn infants to children [0-12 years] – 24, teenagers [13-19 years] – 14, adults [20-44 years] – 34, adults [45-64 years] – 20, and geriatric patients [65 and over] – 8.



 Facility Staff  SANTA YNEZ TRIBAL HEALTH CLINIC  
 Name Position Contact Info
GUY MARKHAM DIRECTOR TRIBAL DENTAL PROGRAM Phone: 805-694-2690
E-Mail: gmarkham@sythc.org
Paul Dankemeyer TRIBAL DENTIST (PART TIME) Phone:
E-Mail: pdankemeyer@sythc.com
Beate Wolfe STAFF DENTIST Phone:
E-Mail: bwolfe@sythc.com
Anton Almqvist Admin, Technology Phone: 805-694-2660
E-Mail: aalmqvist@sythc.org
Jennifer Jasso Admin, Technology Phone:
E-Mail: JJasso@sythc.org
Gregg Lomas DENTAL HYGIENIST Phone: 805-688-7070
E-Mail: glomas@sythc.org
Estela Guerra DENTAL ASSISTANT (RDA) Phone:
E-Mail: eguerra@sythc.com
LINDA JOHNSON DENTAL ASSISTANT (RDA) Phone:
E-Mail: ljohnson@sythc.org
Norman Antonio DENTAL ASSISTANT (RDA) Phone:
E-Mail: nantonio@sythc.org
Noreen Whittington DENTAL ASSISTANT (RDA) Phone:
E-Mail: nwhittington@sythc.com
Carla Silva DENTAL ASSISTANT TRAINEE Phone:
E-Mail: csilva@sythc.org
Alva Pizano RECEPTIONIST Phone:
E-Mail: apizano@sythc.com
     


Directory |  Help |  Disclaimers

If you have any questions about this site please email: Directory Administrator