Skip to site content

Indian Health Service The Federal Health Program for American Indians and Alaska Natives

Share This Page:

Meaningful Use

 

STAY CONNECTED

Use our MU LISTSERV to stay connected.
MU LISTSERV is a mailbox where Meaningful Use questions and information can be communicated.

Under the authority of Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs provide financial incentives to eligible professionals (EPs) and eligible hospitals (EHs), including critical access hospitals (CAHs), as they adopt, implement, upgrade, and demonstrate meaningful use (MU) of certified electronic health record technology (CEHRT). Learn about the specific eligibility requirements for these incentive payments.

The CMS Final Rule [PDF - 14 MB], which was released in July 2010, details performance measures that must be met by EPs and EHs in order to qualify for these EHR incentive payments. These performance measures must be met in three stages, each of which builds on the preceding stage. Stage 1 focuses on collecting and sharing data. Based on that data, Stage 2 emphasizes the implementation of advanced clinical processes. The ultimate goal, to be realized in Stage 3, is to improve patient outcomes.

More information about the specific requirements for Stage 1 and Stage 2 is available by clicking on the links below. (The final requirements for Stage 3 have not yet been released by CMS.)

Stage 1

Stage 2

Note that, though state Medicaid programs have the same measure requirements as the Medicare program, states have the flexibility to move core objectives to the menu set. Check your State Medicaid Health Plan (SMHP) for details.

Upcoming Webinar

The Multi-Purpose Agreement (MPA)

The IHS Office of Information Technology is hosting a webinar on an important MU interoperability requirement, The Multi-Purpose Agreement (MPA): Establishing Trusted Interoperability and Patient Access to Data throughout the Indian Health System in Support of Meaningful Use.

The RPMS Network is currently made up of four tools that help to promote interoperability of patient data. These include, the Master Patient Index (MPI), Health Information Exchange (HIE), Personal Health Record (PHR), and the DIRECT Secure Email services. Use of these tools requires data sharing agreements between organizations. The purpose of the Multi-Purpose Agreement (MPA) is to facilitate this process and enable data sharing throughout the Indian Health System.

Dates/Times

March 30, 2015 - 3 pm ET, 2 pm CT, 1 pm MT, 12 pm PT, and 11 am AKT
April 22, 2015 - 3 pm ET, 2 pm CT, 1 pm MT, 12 pm PT, and 11 am AKT
*Arizona (outside of Navajo Nation) is aligned with the Pacific times listed above due to Daylight Savings. Navajo Nation, you are still aligned with Mountain times above.

Registration is not required. Please refer to the flyer for details and instructions on how to connect to the session.

MPA Webinar Flyer [PDF - 506 KB]