Skip to site content

Indian Health Service The Federal Health Program for American Indians and Alaska Natives

Scroll To Top

International Classification of Diseases (ICD-10)

ICD-10 Logo

The IHS International Classification of Diseases, 10th Revision (ICD-10) project fosters an alliance among the Office of Information Technology (OIT), clinical, and business disciplines within the Indian Health Service/Tribal/Urban (I/T/U) community for the benefit of our patients.


On October 1, 2015, everyone covered by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) will begin using the International Classification of Diseases, 10th revision (ICD-10). These codes will replace the ICD-9 code set and must be used in all HIPAA electronic transactions. The transition to ICD-10 will not affect Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) coding for outpatient procedures and services.

loading time...

To meet the October 1st deadline, the Office of Information Technology's ICD-10 Project will focus on the following:

  • Emphasize need for training for coders and providers
  • Update RPMS software to utilize ICD-10 code sets
  • Emphasize timely assessment of business associate, vendor and payer readiness
  • Encourage areas to address clinical documentation standards required to meet ICD-10 specificity
  • Eliminate visit backlogs, (provider, coding and billing) prior to transition date
  • Plan for a likely decrease in coder and provider productivity during the transition
  • Encourage sites to retain and recruit experienced coders
  • Engage and recognize everyone who contributes to the successful transition to ICD-10

Review the 2015 ICD-10 Training and Deployment Schedule for more details.