U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Indian Health Service: The Federal Health Program for American Indians and Alaska Natives
A - Z Index:
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
#

Sunday, August 28, 2016

Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention - Leading the effort to treat and prevent diabetes in American Indians and Alaska Natives


Diabetes Online CME/CE Education

Join us for one-hour live online seminars and 1-2 hour recorded sessions that provide CME/CE credit. Presented by experts, these online education sessions discuss what's new, as well as, describe practical tools to use with your patients with diabetes. Sessions are intended for physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, nurses, dentists, dietitians, diabetes program coordinators, and other health care professionals.

Accredited Sponsors: IHS Clinical Support Center, IHS Nutrition and Dietetics Training Program, and IHS Division of Oral Health.

Each session is approved for 1-2 hours of AMA PRA Category 1 CME/CE credit. All sessions are at no cost to participants.

Note: Most live sessions are recorded and made available as recorded CME/CE sessions on the table below.


Upcoming Live Online Education

  • Tuesday, September 20, 2016 *
    3pm - 4:30pm EDT / 2pm - 3:30pm CDT / 1pm - 2:30pm MDT / 12pm - 1:30pm PDT / 11am - 12:30pm AKDT
    Exercise Update for Diabetes Treatment and Prevention Professionals
    Ralph LaForge, MS, CLS, FNLA
    * this session is 1½ hours in length and is approved for 1 ½ hours of CME/CE

    Join Session Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov

    Registration is not required. Use the Join Session button at the time of the training to join the session.
  • double chevrons Information about the training:

    Session Information: This seminar will provide an update to key topics in applied exercise science for those working with both apparently healthy and those with health risk including obesity, hypertension, prediabetes, diabetes, and cardiovascular disease. Current research supporting physical activity recommendations will be discussed with practical recommendations for increasing physical activity for all ages. Topics include new 2016 ACSM guidelines for screening patients for exercise programming, new research on physical activity trackers, the value of light exercise in those who otherwise cannot engage in moderate-vigorous activity, estimating energy costs of activity, exercise and fat weight reduction, the value of yogic exercise in diabetes and CVD, and an assortment of applied exercise research findings over the last 12 months. A summary of the overall 2016 physical activity guidelines and recommendations for all Americans will also be included.


Save the Dates for Live CME/CE Sessions

Advancements in Diabetes webinar sessions are held monthly and are scheduled for one hour.

All sessions begin at 3pm ET / 2pm CT / 1pm MT / 12pm PT / 11am AKT.

Join Session Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov

Use the Join Session button at the time of the training to join the session.

Date Topic Presenter(s)
Wednesday, October 5 CDC Diabetes Prevention Project Ann Albright, PhD, RD
Wednesday, November 16 Insulin Management Chris Lamer, PharmD, MHS, BCPS, CDE
 

Recorded CME/CE Education

Choose from a variety of topics on diabetes care grouped by subjects in the tabbed table below. To earn CME/CE credit for recorded online trainings, follow the steps below.

Steps to Receive CME/CE Credit

  1. Choose the online training from the tabbed table below. There are a variety of training sessions, grouped by tabs/subjects.
  2. Review the "CE Information" document, located in the table below, for the session you want to receive credit for.
    Note: there is also a PDF of session slides and a transcript for each training provided as resources, as needed.
  3. Click on the training session title to watch the video recording.
  4. After viewing the session, take and pass the quiz with a score ≥80%. Access the quiz through the "Take Quiz" button in the table below.
  5. Complete the evaluation at the end of the quiz.
  6. Print your CME/CE certificate at the end of the evaluation.

Advancements in Diabetes: Recorded Sessions

Session Title Session Material CME/CE Information
Depression Screening and Follow Up Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov
Casey McDougall, PhD, LP

(Session originally presented on 7/12/16.)
Tobacco Free Living for People with Diabetes Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov
Alberta Becenti, MPH and Shawnell Damon, MPH

(Session originally presented on 5/11/16.)
Diabetes Medications and Medication Management Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov
Chris Lamer, PharmD, MHS, BCPS, CDE

(Session originally presented on 4/13/16.)
Caring for AI/AN People - A Native American Physician's Perspective Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov
Dena Wilson, MD, FACC

(Session originally presented on 2/24/16.)
Leveraging Cultural Capital in Diabetes Prevention for Youth: Medical Wellness Model Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov
Jennie R. Joe, PhD, MPH, BSN and Francine C. Gachupin, PhD, MPH

(Session originally presented on 1/20/16.)
Implementing the AADE Practice Advisory for Diabetic Kidney Disease Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov
Andrew Narva, MD, FACP, FASN

(Session originally presented on 12/08/15.)
Session Title Session Material CME/CE Information
Implementing the AADE Practice Advisory for Diabetic Kidney Disease Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov
Andrew Narva, MD, FACP, FASN

(Session originally presented on 12/08/15.)
Managing Progressive CKD in People with Diabetes
Andrew Narva, MD
Session Title Session Material CME/CE Information
Diabetes Foot Care (Web-based Training)
Stephen Rith-Nijarian, MD
Diabetes Foot Care Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov
Kendall Shumway, DPM

(Session originally presented on 9/23/15.)
The Diabetes-Oral Health Connection
G. Todd Smith, DDS, MSD
Update on Self-Monitoring Blood Glucose
Marie Russell, MD, MPH
Session Title Session Material CME/CE Information
Depression Screening and Follow Up Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov
Casey McDougall, PhD, LP

(Session originally presented on 7/12/16.)
Tobacco Free Living for People with Diabetes Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov
Alberta Becenti, MPH and Shawnell Damon, MPH

(Session originally presented on 5/11/16.)
Diabetes Medications and Medication Management Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov
Chris Lamer, PharmD, MHS, BCPS, CDE

(Session originally presented on 4/13/16.)
Clinical Exercise Update: Six Important Findings Regarding Physical Activity Recommendations for Individuals in All Age Groups Exit Disclaimer: You Are Leaving www.ihs.gov
Ralph LaForge, MS, CLS, FNLA

(Session originally presented on 10/20/15.)
 

 

Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention | Phone: 1-844-IHS-DDTP (1-844-447-3387) | diabetesprogram@ihs.gov