Skip to site content

Indian Health Service The Federal Health Program for American Indians and Alaska Natives

Share This Page:

International Classification of Diseases (ICD-10)

ICD-10 Logo

The IHS International Classification of Diseases, 10th Revision (ICD-10) project fosters an alliance among the Office of Information Technology (OIT), clinical, and business disciplines within the Indian Health Service/Tribal/Urban (I/T/U) community for the benefit of our patients.

News & Events

On October 1, 2015, everyone covered by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) will begin using the International Classification of Diseases, 10th revision (ICD-10). These codes will replace the ICD-9 code set and must be used in all HIPAA electronic transactions. The transition to ICD-10 will not affect Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) coding for outpatient procedures and services.

To meet the October 1st deadline, the Office of Information Technology's ICD-10 Project will focus on the following:

  • Emphasize need for training for coders and providers
  • Update RPMS software to utilize ICD-10 code sets
  • Emphasize timely assessment of business associate, vendor and payer readiness
  • Encourage areas to address clinical documentation standards required to meet ICD-10 specificity
  • Eliminate visit backlogs, (provider, coding and billing) prior to transition date
  • Plan for a likely decrease in coder and provider productivity during the transition
  • Encourage sites to retain and recruit experienced coders
  • Engage and recognize everyone who contributes to the successful transition to ICD-10