Skip to site content

Albuquerque Area

Sandia Mountains - Albuquerque, NM

The Indian Health Service Albuquerque Area is responsible for the provision of health services to 27 distinctly different tribal groups. The Area serves 20 Pueblos, two Apache bands, three bands of the Navajo Nation and two Ute tribes across four Southwest states to include New Mexico, Colorado, Texas and Utah. Additionally, numerous tribal members from throughout the United States who live, work, or go to school in the urban centers of the Albuquerque Area are provided services in health facilities operated by the Indian Health Service.

The administrative headquarters of the Area are located in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Across the Area care is via five hospitals, eleven health centers, and twelve field clinics, which deliver care at the community level. These facilities are administratively divided into eight service delivery areas called "Service Units." Care of American Indian/Alaska Natives in Albuquerque, NM and Denver, CO areas are provided via two Urban Health Centers.

In addition to these facilities, the Albuquerque Area has two specialized care facilities. For Native youth suffering from substance abuse problems, New Sunrise Regional Treatment Center (NSRTC), provides residential treatment services. The Albuquerque Indian Dental Clinic (AIDC) provides dental care for children, teens, and young adults (up to age 26).

The Albuquerque Area also participates in several national IHS initiatives including:

  • Special Diabetes Program for Indians (SDPI)
  • Improving Patient Care (IPC)
  • Meth and Suicide Prevention Initiative (MSPI)
  • Domestic Violence Prevention Initiative (DVPI)
  • Baby-Friendly Initiative