Skip to site content

Health Care

The Indian Health Service Health Care system includes many different types of programs and services; these include:

  • Ambulatory
  • Audiology
  • Behavioral Health:
    • Alcohol Abuse
    • Substance Abuse
    • Mental Health
  • Dental
  • Diabetes Management
  • Elder Care
  • Health Education
  • Immunizations
  • Inpatient Care (For patients whose condition requires admission to a hospital.)
  • Laboratory
  • Optometry
  • Outpatient Care (For patients who are not hospitalized for 24 hours or more but who visits a hospital, clinic, or associated facility for diagnosis or treatment.)
  • Pediatrics
  • Pharmacy
  • Physical Rehabilitation:
    • Physical Therapy
    • Occupational Therapy
    • Speech-Language Pathology
    • Audiology
  • Prenatal Care
  • Radiology
  • Rehabilitation

NOTE! Not all Indian Health Service Health Care Facilities can provide the services noted on this website. Call the IHS facility you are planning on going to prior to your visit to ensure all your necessary services can be provided.

Using the Find Health Care website, you can find the nearest provider for the services above or browse through our IHS Locations page.

Quality of IHS Health Care

Federal law says that IHS has to report to Congress each year on the quality of health care it provides to its patients. Other Federal health care programs such as the Department of Veterans Affairs and the Department of Defense have to do the same. This kind of report card is known as "Government Performance and Results Act" or GPRA report card. This means that all government health care programs are expected to improve the health of their patients with the money they get from Congress. Each year IHS includes its GPRA report card to Congress as part of the IHS budget.