Skip to site content

Phoenix Area

Sedona Canyon

The Phoenix Area Indian Health Service (PAIHS) Office in Phoenix, Arizona, oversees the delivery of health care to Native American users in the tri-state area of Arizona, Nevada and Utah.

We are the Phoenix Area Indian Health Service. We provide health care and community health services to approximately 180,000 American Indians/Alaska Natives in the tri-state area of Arizona, Nevada, and Utah. Through ten Service Units including two Youth Regional Treatment Centers and a network of heath care facilities, we are a health care partner to over forty tribes.

Our Area Office is based in Phoenix, Arizona, where 197 administrative and technical staff contribute to the success of our mission to raise the physical, mental, social, and spiritual health of American Indians and Alaska Natives to the highest level. Our Service Units employ over 2,400 staff. Our system of care includes IHS- and tribally-operated health care facilities that serve tribal communities as well as three Urban Indian health programs. These services are comprehensive and range from primary care (inpatient and outpatient) to tertiary care and specialty services. In addition, dental services, behavioral health, public health nursing, health education, and environmental health services are provided.

Our largest health care facility is the Phoenix Indian Medical Center (PIMC), located near downtown Phoenix. This Joint Commission accredited 127-bed hospital employs nearly 1,200 people to provide a comprehensive range of specialty services to both urban and rural tribal members. In addition, PIMC professional staff travels throughout the states in the Phoenix Area region, providing direct services and consultation and guidance to other IHS hospitals and health centers.

Phoenix Area Office Address

Phoenix Area Office
Two Renaissance Square
40 N. Central Avenue, Suite 504
Phoenix, Arizona 85004

Contact Phoenix Area Office

Main Phone: (602) 364-5039

Fax: (602) 364-5042

Hours

Office Hours: 8:00am – 4:30pm
Time Zone: Mountain
States Served: AZ, NV, UT, CA

Contacts

Office of the Area Director
Ph: (602) 364-5039
Fax: (602) 364-5042

Area Director
Charles Reidhead, M.D., M.P.H.
Ty.Reidhead@ihs.gov

Deputy Director
RADM Michael Weahkee
Michael.Weahkee@ihs.gov

Director Field Operations
Holly Elliott
Holly.Elliott@ihs.gov

Chief Medical Officer (CMO)
Dena Wilson, M.D., FACC
Dena.Wilson@ihs.gov

Executive Officer
Carol S. Lincoln
Carol.Lincoln@ihs.gov

Chief Nurse Officer
CDR Juliana Upshaw
Juliana.Upshaw@ihs.gov

Note: if you are trying to establish medical care or have other questions about healthcare services, please use the Contact Us page.

Area Departments

Office of Self Determination
Hope Johnson
Hope.Johnson@ihs.gov
Ph: (602) 364-5354
Fax: (602) 364-5111

Division of Integrated Behavioral Health
Derek Patton, Director
Derek.Patton@ihs.gov
Ph: (480) 228-8981
Fax: (602) 364-5198

Division of Clinical and Preventive Services
Capt. Rebecca Reyes, Director
Rebecca.reyes@ihs.gov
Ph: (480) 498-9145
Fax: (602) 364-5198

Southwest Region Human Resources
Florence Fitch, Director
Florence.Fitch@ihs.gov
Ph: (602) 364-5219
Fax: (602) 364-5176

Office of ER/LR & Benefits
Moira McCarthy, Acting Supervisor
Miora.McCarthy@ihs.gov
Ph: (602) 364-2537
Fax: (602) 364-5357

Information Resources Management
Jeffry White, Director
Jeffry.White@ihs.gov
Ph: (602) 364-5280
Fax: (602) 364-5311

Acquisitions Management
Verna Kuwanhoyioma, Director
Verna.Kuwanhoyioma@ihs.gov
Ph: (602) 364-5012
Fax: (602) 364-5030

Financial Management
Angela Buzzard, Financial Management Officer
Angela.Buzzard@ihs.gov
Ph: (602) 364-5163
Fax: (602) 364-5114

Office of Quality Management
Dena Wilson, M.D., FACC, Acting Director
Dena.Wilson@ihs.gov
Phone: (602) 364-5039
Fax: (602) 364-5042

Office of Business Development
Tina Valencia, Director
Tina.Valencia@ihs.gov
Ph: (602) 364-5117

Office of Purchased Referred Care
Julia Ysaguirre, Director
Julia.Ysaguirre@ihs.gov
Ph: (602) 364-5156
Fax: (602) 364-5269

Office of EQL Employment Opportunity
RADM Michael Weahkee, Acting EEO Director
Michael.weahkee@ihs.gov
Ph: (602) 364-5039
Fax: (602) 364-5042

Office of Knowledge Management
CDR Juliana Upshaw
Juliana.Upshaw@ihs.gov
Ph: (602) 364-5039
Fax: (602) 364-5042

Office of Property Management
Marty Yazzie, Supervisor
Marty.Yazzie@ihs.gov
Ph: (602) 364-
Fax: (602) 364-5376

Office of Clinical Support Center
Dora Bradley, Director
Droa.Bradley@ihs.gov
Ph: (602) 364-7757
Fax: (602) 364-7788

Office of Environmental Health & Engineering
Kenny Hicks, Director
Kenny.Hicks@ihs.gov
Ph: (602) 364-5078
Fax: (602) 364-5057