Skip to site content

Grant Management Information

In support of its mission, IHS awards grants for more than a dozen programs and is part of the largest grant-awarding agency in the Federal Government. There are two types of grants: non-discretionary and discretionary. IHS awards only discretionary grants

  • Discretionary grants permit the Federal government, according to specific authorizing legislation, to exercize judgment, or "discretion," in selecting the applicant/recipient organization, through a competitive grant process.
  • Non-Discretionary grants are those that a Federal agency is required by statute to award if the recipient, usually a state, submits an acceptable State Plan or application and meets the eligibility and compliance requirements of the statutory and regulatory provisions of the grant program.

Information for Applicants and Grantees


Grants Policies, Laws, and Regulations


Administrative Links