Skip to site content

Indian Health Service The Federal Health Program for American Indians and Alaska Natives

Scroll To Top

California Area Office logoCalifornia Area Office

Office of Public Health

(916) 930-3981 + Extension


The Office of Public Health ensures that high quality health services are available for Indian people in California. We accomplish this goal by helping the tribal and urban Indian health programs meet nationally accepted standards of care for healthcare organizations. Our professional staff provides training and technical assistance in addition to performing basic federal functions such as contract monitoring and health program performance evaluations. Our mission is to: monitor health status; empower health care providers and consumers about new innovative practices; and join with other health care partners to improve access and delivery of care. We assure proper licensure credentialing is being used and national accreditation is being sought by Tribal, Urban and Buy-Indian health programs.
 

Office of the Associate Director

Steve Riggio, DDS, Associate Director (Extension 322) (steve.riggio@ihs.gov)

  • Administrative direction of health care services
  • Assures management of electronic data collection of health information
  • Assures technical performance monitoring of tribal and urban health contracts
  • Area Dental Consultant
  • Area Head Start Coordinator
  • Area Urban Coordinator
  • Project Officer / Technical Assistance
  • Program performance reviews 

Rachel Harvey, MPS, Public Health Analyst, (Extension 361) (rachel.harvey@ihs.gov)
Terri O'Shea, Program Specialist (Extension 311) (terri.oshea@ihs.gov)


Government Performance and Results Act (GPRA)

Christine Brennan, MPH, Public Health Analyst, (Extension 333) (christine.brennan@ihs.gov)
Sonal Goyal, PharmD, MPH, Project Officer, Pharmacy Consultant, (Extension 308) (sonal.goyal@ihs.gov)

  • Data analysis, local and national reports
  • Epidemiology: technical assistance consultant
  • National GPRA management and technical support
  • Program planning and statistics support
  • Pharmacy consultation

Health Professional Consultants

Beverly Calderon, RD, CDE, (760) 735-6884 (beverly.calderon@ihs.gov)

  • Area Health Promotion Disease Prevention (HPDP) Consultant
  • Dietician
  • Project Officer / Technical Assistance


Megan Cocchi (Extension 390) (megan.cocchi@ihs.gov)

  • Health Systems Specialist
  • YRTC Business Office Manager
  • 3rd party billing and collections
  • Provider enrollment


Susan Ducore, RN, PHN, (Extension 323) (susan.ducore@ihs.gov)

  • Area Nurse Consultant
  • Immunization Coordinator
  • Project Officer / Technical Assistance


Mark Espinosa, MPHA, (Extension 315) (mark.espinosa@ihs.gov)

  • Health Systems Administrator

  • Oversee the daily operations of the YRTC

  • Manage staff and resources for the YRTC

  • Educate the public and professionals about the YRTC program and perform outreach


Marilyn Freeman, RHIA, CHPS (Extension 362) (marilyn.freeman@ihs.gov)

  • Compliance Officer
  • Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Coordinator
  • Health Information Management (HIM) Consultant
  • ICD-10 Coordinator
  • Meaningful Use Coordinator
  • Privacy Officer (HIPAA)
  • Vista Imaging Coordinator


Toni Johnson (Extension 354) (toni.johnson@ihs.gov)

  • Area Business Office Coordinator
    • Revenue Cycle Management Consultant
    • IHS Eligibility / Technical Assistance
  • Area Purchased / Referred Care Officer
    • Medical/dental Care away from IHS or Tribal facility
  • Project Officer / Technical Assistance


Helen Maldonado, PA, CDE, (Extension 332) (helen.maldonado@ihs.gov)

  • Area Diabetes Consultant
  • Diabetes Managment training and Technical Assistance
  • Improvement Advisor for Improving Patient Care (IPC)