Skip to site content

Indian Health Service The Federal Health Program for American Indians and Alaska Natives

Share This Page:

Provider Resources

Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) Certification

SANE certification is recognition of forensic nurses who have achieved the highest standards in his or her specialty. All requirements set forth by the International Association of Forensic Nurses must be met before applying for certification. Though it is not required for practice in IHS facilities, the IHS encourages registered nurses to seek SANE certification. There is no SANE certification for physicians or physician assistants.

All health care providers should follow the training requirements outlined in the Indian Health Manual (IHM) Chapter 29, Sexual Assault Policy. Please contact the Forensic Healthcare staff if you have questions regarding training requirements or SANE certification.

Forensic Equipment

To request equipment for your facility, please visit our Forensic Equipment page.

IHS Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence Listserv

The IHS Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence Listserv is operated by the IHS Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner-Sexual Assault Response Team (SANE SART) Coordinators and IHS Division of Nursing Women's Health Program Staff. The list communicates IHS' response efforts, policy updates, training and funding announcements, and provides technical assistance for sexual and domestic violence. Just add your name and email to IHS Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence Listserv to join.

Sexual Assault Resources

Intimate Partner Violence Resources