Skip to site content

California Area Office logoCalifornia Area Office

California Area Tribal Advisory Committee (CATAC)


The CATAC (established in March 1998) provides counsel and guidance to the Area Director, in accordance with the tribal consultation policy.  The CATAC is comprised of 14 representatives; the Area Director is the 15th member.  Each member is selected by California Area Tribal Leaders during the Annual Tribal Consultation (during which alternate members are also determined).  The CATAC meets quarterly.

Primary Representative From Term Expiration Alternate Representative From Term Expiration
North Region          
Arch Super Karuk Tribe 2024 Angie Wilson Pit River 2024
Angela Jarnaghan Hoopa Valley Tribe 2024 Laura Borden United Indian Health Service, BOD Treasurer 2025
Carol Larsen United Indian Health Service, Vice Chair 2025 Ruby Rollings Cher-Ae Heights Indian Community of Trinidad Rancheria 2025
East Central          
Elena Tarango Wilton Rancheria 2024 Meryl Picard Bishop Paiute Tribe 2025
Elaine Fink North Fork Rancheria of Mono Indians 2024 Elizabeth Kipp Big Sandy Rancheria 2025
Janice Mendez Bridgeport Indian Colony 2024 Carol Bill Cold Springs Rancheria 2025
West Central Region          
Silver Galleto Cloverdale Rancheria of Pomo Indians 2025 Trisha Jones Manchester-Point Arena Band of Pomo Indians 2025
Debra Ramirez Redwood Valley or Little River Band of Pomo Indians of the Redwood Valley Rancheria 2025 Diana Billy-Elliot Hopland Band of Pomo Indians 2025
Crista Ray Scotts Valley Band of Pomo Indians 2024 Teresa Meek Habematolel Pomo of Upper Lake, California 2025
Southern Region          
Joseph D.L. Mirelez Torres Martinez Desert Cahuilla Indians 2025 Verionica Espinosa Santa Rosa Band of Cahuilla Indians, California 2025
Michael Garcia Ewiiaapaayp Band of Kumeyaay Indians 2025 James Hill La Posta Band of Diegueno Mission Indians of the La Posta Indian Reservation 2025
Chris Devers Pauma Band of Luiseno Mission Indians of the Pauma & Yuima Reservation 2024 Robert Smith Pala Band of Mission Indians 2025
Urban Representative          
Scott Black American Indian Health & Services Corporation 2025 Sonya M. Tetnowski Indian Health Center of Santa Clara Valley, Inc. 2024
National Indian Health Board          
Lesley Sherman-Hunt   2025      
IHS Representative          
Beverly Miller          

Contact Person

Wesley Simmons
Indian Self-Determination Program Manager, Indian Health Service, California Area Office
Phone:  (916) 930-3981, ext. 319
Fax:  (916) 930-3952