Skip to site content

Tribal Leaders Diabetes Committee (TLDC)

What Are You Looking For?

The IHS Director established the Tribal Leaders Diabetes Committee (TLDC) in 1998. The TLDC makes recommendations to the IHS Director on broad-based policy and advocacy priorities for diabetes and related chronic conditions as well as recommends a process for the distribution of Special Diabetes Program for Indians (SDPI) funds.

The TLDC consists of the following members:
  • One elected or duly-appointed Tribal Leader from each of the 12 IHS Areas serves as the primary representative.
    • Each Area also designates an alternate member to serve when the primary member is unavailable to do so.
    • TLDC elects one of its members to serve as the Tribal Co-Chair
  • One federal representative, who serves as the Federal Co-Chair

One technical advisor from each of the following American Indian/Alaska Native organizations serves in an advisory (non-voting) capacity to the TLDC: Direct Service Tribes Advisory Committee, National Congress of American Indians, National Council of Urban Indian Health, National Indian Health Board, and Tribal Self-Governance Advisory Committee.

TLDC Meetings

Tribal Leaders Diabetes Committee (TLDC) meeting

The TLDC meets quarterly. Meetings are open to the public and information on upcoming meetings will be posted here.

Upcoming Meeting

Quarterly Meeting (In-person with virtual option to attend)
September 17 – 18, 2024

In-person Attendance Details

Location: Washington, DC
Venue: TBA

Virtual Attendance Details

TLDC Members


Tribal Co-Chair

Connie Barker
Oklahoma City Area Representative

Federal Co-Chair

Carmen Licavoli Hardin, MSN, ANP-BC
Director, IHS Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention

Tribal Leader Representatives

One primary member and one alternate from each IHS Area are selected by the respective IHS Area Director in consultation with Area Tribes.

Alaska Area

Evelyn Beeter, Primary
Alicia Andrew, Alternate

Albuquerque Area

Beverly Coho, Primary
Carlton Albert Sr., Alternate

Bemidji Area

Phyllis Davis, Primary
Alternate Vacant

Billings Area

Tracy King, Primary
Justin Grayhawk, Alternate

California Area

Rosemary Nelson, Primary
Dominica Valencia, Alternate

Great Plains Area

Ryman LeBeau, Primary
Peter Lengkeek, Alternate

Nashville Area

Chief Clarissa Sabattis, Primary
Cameron Chase, Alternate

Navajo Area

Buu Nygren, Primary
George Tolth, Alternate

Oklahoma City Area

Connie Barker, Primary and Tribal Co-Chair
Nancy Elliott, Alternate

Phoenix Area

Darlene Felix, Primary
Andrea Johnson Harper, Alternate

Portland Area

Sharon Stanphill, Primary
Kelle Little, Alternate

Tucson Area

Vivian Saunders, Primary
Adalberto Renteria, Alternate