Skip to site content

Indian Health Service The Federal Health Program for American Indians and Alaska Natives

Scroll To Top

California Area Office logoCalifornia Area Office

Division of Environmental Health Services

 

The IHS California Area Office Division of Environmental Health Services (DEHS) Mission: Through shared decision making, enhance the health and quality of life of American Indians/Alaska Natives to the highest possible level by eliminating environmentally related disease and injury through sound public health measures.

The range of services provided by the California Area DEHS Program is guided by the IHS Indian Health Manual Part 3, Chapter 11 and the IHS Technical Handbook for Environmental Health and Engineering Volume VIII.

Given the broad scope of the California Area DEHS program, the activities, functions and services provided by this program is extensive.  In general, basic services provided by this office include:

  • surveys and assessments
  • investigations and special studies
  • sampling, testing, monitoring
  • technical assistance and consultation
  • training
  • policy development
  • program support

Learn more about specific DEHS program areas under our Offices page.


Contact us

 

California Area Office

650 Capitol Mall, Suite 7-100
Sacramento, CA 95814

Carolyn Garcia, REHS, MSPH
Director of Environmental Health Services

Phone: (916) 930-3981 Ext. 336
Email:carolyn.garcia2@ihs.gov

Sandra Mastandrea, REHS
Environmental Health Officer

Phone: (916) 930-3981 Ext. 338
Email: sandra.mastandrea@ihs.gov


Redding District Office

1900 Churn Creek Road, Suite 210
Redding, CA 96002

LCDR Molly Madson
District Environmental Health Officer & Injury Prevention Specialist

Phone: (530) 246-5339 Ext. 302
Email: molly.madson@ihs.gov


Escondido District Office

1320 West Valley Parkway, Suite 309
Escondido, CA 92029

CAPT Brian Lewelling
District Environmental Health Officer & Area Institutional Health Officer

Phone: (760) 735-6891
Email: brian.lewelling@ihs.gov


Ukiah Field Office

1252 Airport Park Blvd, Suite B5
Ukiah, CA 95482

LCDR Tim Shelhamer
Environmental Health Officer

Phone:(707) 462-5314
Email: tim.shelhamer@ihs.gov


Clovis Field Office

613 Harvard Avenue
Clovis, CA 93612

Alyssa Bernido
Environmental Health Officer

Phone:(559) 322-7488 Ext. 306
Email: alyssa.bernido@ihs.gov